Posted by: scottepp | November 18, 2009

ROCKY “When you Get knocked down, get back up and keep moving forward”

In life we draw many conclusions about success and failure.

We look at our peers and others around us and we judge these people by the results we see or the results we don’t see.  Just think about a celebrity that we admire or someone in your community that you look up too.  Perhaps there is someone in your life that has overcome circumstances and still achieved greatness.

 Life has a way of knocking us down sometimes and it is really hard to get back up.

Now spin the wheel.  There are people who we know that have habits or perhaps we have habits.  Life has a way of knocking us down sometimes and it is really hard to get back up.  Maybe these habits have ripple effects like damaged relationships or financial shortfalls.  Some of us have seen people in hardship and wondered how that person got there.  Others are sitting in our chair reading this and wondering why we’re at that place.  All in all life has it’s ups and downs and sometimes we think it’s more down than up.  So, what can we do so spring up from our chair?  What can we do to stop sitting down in our problems and start walking through them? Where can we turn when life’s paths are hindering us?

I can relate to these feelings and emotions.  I confess that at times I get pushed back and feel like just complaining about life’s wrong turns and upsets.  I’ve sad in my misery at times and I’ve wallowed about my upsets.  I have also been discouraged at the actions of others.  A little story from my life may be very relatable to you.  I have for nearly 10 years been a landlord.  I’ve owned many properties and have rented to hundreds of different tenants.  Through this time I’ve experienced the heights of disrespect as people have left my houses in huge repair and damage.  I’ve had tenants take pellet guns and shoot holes in the walls, Tear up carpets, smash down doors, break windows and stain carpets beyond cleaning.  this week a tenant failed to pay rent and left my house with a broken window.  When this happens you do feel taken advantage of.  Later in this column I will use these set backs as an example of how to apply one amazing secret to success.

In these same ways you may have some situation in your life that’s left you deflated, disrespected or taken advantage of.  Identify with these feelings and emotions and taken a few moments to be real about them.  And now! Practise a “ONE VERY POWERFUL TOOL FOR SUCCESS!”  IT’S A VERY SIMPLE PRINCIPLE, YET VERY PROFOUND.  SO MUCH SO THAT IF YOU HARNESSED IT YOU WOULD BE LIVING WITH MORE ABUNDANCE AND SUCCESS IN YOUR LIFE. HERE IT IS, ARE YOU READY FOR IT?

ONE AMAZING SECRET TO SUCCESS IS WHEN YOU GET KNOCKED DOWN, GET BACK UP AND KEEP MOVING FORWARD!

In life we’re all going to be knocked to the ground.  We’re all going to get beat up by life sometimes.  We’re all going to get knocked down.  We’re all going to feel the hurt of other people’s choices as they come crashing down on us.  Some of these bombs will be dropped on us unexpectedly and knock us to the ground in an instant.  Marriage can be hard, career choices can be hard, knowing which way to turn can be hard, friendships can be hard, losing loved ones is hard, longing o be with someone and have it not happen is hard, getting out from under a desolate cloud of despair and defeat is hard, recovering from addictions is hard, finding out how to make ends meet is hard…  The ache of life may be more than you’re able.  Hold on, don’t give up.  Don’t close your eyes.  The light will break through the clouds.  When we step out from under defeat and bounce back from life’s hard blows we come back stronger than before.  Stronger than ever.  I petition you to hold on, don’t give up.  Get back up when you get knocked down.  Keep moving forward.  Move forward and steady yourself for your next hit because it will come.  The next hit may not  knock you to the ground because you’ll have a stronger fortitude from hits you’ve already taken.  Now if you get knocked down the next time.  Don’t despair.  Get back up, life is always worth fighting for.  There is always hope and there is always light.  After all our reward is not really here on earth.

“it ain’t about how hard you hit, it is about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward…”

In a previous job I was required to make a lot of cold calls to businesses.  At times it was difficult to pick the phone back up and make another call after a series of hang ups or calls with little result.  A friend at this job (and Rocky when you read this you know who you are) and I would quote Rocky Balboa when we got knocked down.  We’d quote Rocky VI “The world ain’t all sunshine and rainbows. It is a very mean and nasty place It will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently if you let it. You, me or nobody is going to hit as hard as life. But it ain’t about how hard you hit, it is about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward, how much can you take and keep moving forward. That’s how winning is done!” Click the following link to view the expanded version of this inspirational speech.

Relating this amazing secret to success with my disappointments with tenants I derive these new perspectives.  First I have accepted that the prize of having rental properties being paid off and the reward of income out weighs the negatives that do come from some tenants disrespect.  Second I like to think of these types of situations as riding a roller coaster.  I bought a ticket for a roller coaster ride when I purchased my first rental property.  I may be afraid of the spins and turns on that ride at times but I remind myself that I bought the ticket for the ride and I’ve got to ride it.  There’s no getting off half way.  I might as well enjoy the ride.  Thirdly, I can always learn from the challenges that knocked me down to minimize the change of another set back.  Fourthly I Will Get back up and move forward.  The faster I get back up and move forward the stronger I’ll be and the better I’ll feel about my situation.  Additionally I’ve learnt through all types of set backs that it’s best to get back up as fast as you can and move forward.  The people who have become the most successful at things in life have suffered many set backs.  Albert Einstein, Thomas Edison, Mozart and Mother Theresa all took hits but they never gave up.  The got back up and kept on moving forward.  The faster you get back up when you take a hit the more you’ll be able to take the next time and the more you move forward and learn from your past hits the more you’ll avoid future hits. “It ain’t about how hard you hit, it is about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward, how much can you take and keep moving forward. That’s how winning is done!”

Hi, my name is Scott Epp and I help people breakthrough their BIGGEST challenges so that they can live their life purpose with passion and abundance! I have been coached by some of the world’s best performance coaches and now I have been blessed to have helped 1000s of people on stage, in groups and one-on-one to breakthrough and achieve success in life. There is so much more that can be shared about beliefs, including how to develop highly effective empowering beliefs. I am a Sydney Life Coach and Sydney Business coach so if you live in Sydney we can meet one-on-one. Otherwise I coach a lot of my clients on the phone or via Skype. If you want to master your beliefs then go to: www.abundancecoaching.com/free-session to schedule a free one-on-one with me.

This weeks Reflect and Apply

Reflect on the hits that life is giving you.  Now think of what it would be like if you stayed down for a minute longer… an hour longer… a day longer… a month longer…  What would you life be like if you stayed down that long?

Now Reflect on the hits that life is giving you again.  Now think of what it would be like if you got up from your current hit.  Then you got hit again, and again and again but each time you got stronger and you keeped on getting up and moving forward.  Then you relatized one day that that it didn’t really matter how many times life hit you, it only mattered that you got back up and kept moving forward.

quote of the week!

“The world ain’t all sunshine and rainbows. It is a very mean and nasty place It will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently if you let it. You, me or nobody is going to hit as hard as life. But it ain’t about how hard you hit, it is about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward, how much can you take and keep moving forward. That’s how winning is done!”

– Rocky Balboah

Leave a Reply

Categories

